Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

DSCF3893[1]
The cups
My husband absolutely adores peanut butter cups. He loves peanut butter anything, actually but the occasion of his 30th birthday and him having no idea what he wanted on behalf of the kids seemed like the perfect time to get the Fussy Pre-teen into the kitchen and help her make some nummy peanut butter cups for him. Happily, she was quite keen on the idea. Maybe because it involves chocolate (she doesn’t like peanut butter.)

DSCF3884[1]
The Fussy Pre-teen enjoying cook’s perks
So, once the Baba was in bed and the Dada had gone out with friends, we headed into the kitchen to cook up a storm! Although there isn’t really cooking involved, unless you count melting vegan chocolate drops (I’m not sure I do count it), because these babies are fridge items. The only ingredient I couldn’t find was oat flour, so I used wheat. I have no idea how much that affects the taste but I’m pretty sure these will be a regular feature of our lives so if I come across oat flour, I will let you know if there is a noticeable difference.

DSCF3885[1]
In the Fridge
These are quite possibly one of the easiest things I have ever made, and the quickest too. I didn’t even get round to taking photos of the process, so you’ll have to settle for the empty-ish bowl, the finished items and my husband enjoying them.

DSCF3891[1]
The Not-So-Vegan Dada’s enjoyment face
So what did he think?

The Not-So-Vegan Dada: “They were super tasty. 11/10 would definitely munch again.”

No one else tried them because they were the Dada’s present but I will absolutely be trying the next batch.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew Marco says:

    This sounds delightful! I’m for sure going to have to give these a try, what an awesome alternative šŸ™‚

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? It would be amazing if you could share your recipe in our group, would love for you to join our community of food lovers! Check us out here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

    Like

  2. lizziewiggle says:

    Hi! Thanks for your interest. I won’t share the recipe because I don’t want to infringe on the author’s copyright but you can find the recipe on page 282 of But I Could Never Go Vegan! by Kristy Turner. She also has a load more recipes available on her website
    http://keepinitkind.com/recipes/

    Like

Leave a Reply

